EGG – Egg (LP, RE Deram 1970,2018)



Peso 250 g



SKU: 3924 Categoría: Etiqueta:

Band formed in 1969 by Dave Stewart (organ), Mont Campbell (bass/vocals) and Clive Brooks (drums), after the disbanding of their previous band Uriel (7) when Steve Hillage left for college. Egg signed a record deal with Decca in May 1969. Some time later they were offered to record an Uriel album, but since the musicians were under contract with another company, Uriel reformed to record under the name Arzachel with musicians using pseudonyms.

Egg toured the UK and recorded two highly acclaimed albums (Egg, The Polite Force). After struggling for over a year with hardly enough gigs to survive, Egg eventually broke up in July 1972, leaving almost an album’s worth of unrecorded compositions. So when the opportunity came, in the summer of 1974, to record a third album for the Virgin sub-label Caroline Records, the trio was re-united for «The Civil Surface», but the band was not in existence anymore.

The first album shows some Soft Machine influences and a focus on unusual time signatures that Dave Stewart would also explore with later bands Hatfield And The North and National Health. Egg and Stewart’s other projects tend to get lumped into the ‘Canterbury Scene’ with the extended Soft Machine and Gong families of musicians.
Lista de Títulos
A1 Bulb 0:09
A2 While Growing My Hair 3:53
A3 I Will Be Absorbed 5:10
A4 Fugue In D Minor 2:46
A5 They Laughed When I Sat Down At The Piano… 1:17
A6 The Song Of McGillicudie The Pusillanimous (Or: Don’t Worry James, Your Socks Are Hanging In The Coal Cellar With Thomas) 5:07
A7 Boilk 1:00
Symphony No. 2 (24:00)
B1a Movement 1 5:47
B1b Movement 2 6:20
B1c Blane 5:28
B1d Movement 4 4:51